× See up-to-date Delaware Lottery COVID-19 Information www.delottery.com/covid-19

Press Releases

2013 Press Releases

May 28, 2013


Dover, DE - May 28, 2013 - The Delaware Lottery today named Super G supermarket, located at Lighthouse Plaza Boulevard in Rehoboth Beach, as the Retailer who sold one of three winning tickets for a $50 million POWERBALL® jackpot prize in the Memorial Day weekend drawing held May 25. The winning numbers in Saturday’s drawing were 2, 6, 19, 21, and 27 with a POWERBALL of 25. The additional two tickets that matched all six numbers correctly were sold in Florida and Louisiana.

Each of the three POWERBALL jackpot winners will have the option to choose a 20-year annuity or the cash value of their share of the jackpot. If the annuity option is chosen, each winner will receive one-third of the $50 million jackpot annuity, which will be paid over 20 years. If a winner chooses the cash option for their share of the jackpot they will receive a lump sum payment of one-third of the $31.1 million cash value. The winner in Delaware has not yet come forward.

“For one lucky winner in Delaware, Memorial Day weekend will now be remembered as the start of their life as a millionaire,” said Delaware Lottery Director Vernon Kirk.  “And for our Retailer Super G, they are winners today for helping to make that happen and we are pleased to be adding them to our growing list of lucky Retailers.”

The Delaware Lottery has seen an increase in the number of millionaire winners in the First State since the POWERBALL game changed from a $1 to a $2 price point on January 15, 2012. Earlier this month, a 34-year-old woman from Wilmington, Del, was the lucky winner of $2 million playing POWERBALL with POWER PLAY® in the drawing held May 15. The winning ticket was sold at Jay’s Liquors located at 900 N. DuPont Street in Wilmington.

In October of last year, a $50 million POWERBALL jackpot winning ticket was also sold in Delaware at Cutrona Liquors located at 4623 North Market Street in Wilmington. Since POWERBALL first began in 1992, Delaware has had a total of eight jackpot winners, which will increase to nine when the lucky winner from Saturday’s drawing comes forward.

POWERBALL and MEGA MILLIONS® have seen huge jackpot swells within the last year, both reaching record-breaking jackpot status. Just last week, POWERBALL reached a record-breaking $590.5 million, beating its previous highest jackpot of $587 million won on November 28, 2012. In March, MEGA MILLIONS reached a total of $656 million and is the largest jackpot in world history to date.

"There’s more to the game than just big jackpot prizes," added Kirk. "Under Powerball’s new and enhanced prize structure, more than 663 players have become millionaires by winning at the second prize level. On the average, over nine millionaires have been made each week since the game was changed in January 2012."

POWERBALL jackpots start at $40 million and roll until the jackpot is won. Players win by matching the five white ball numbers (1-59) and the red Powerball number (1-35). There are eight other ways to win non-jackpot prizes ranging from $4 to $1 million or up to $2 million if the ticket includes POWER PLAY. The overall odds of winning a prize in the game are approximately 1 in 31. The odds of winning a jackpot prize are 1-in-175 million.

About the Delaware Lottery:
Since the start of operations in 1975, the Delaware Lottery has contributed more than $4.1 billion to the state's General Fund to help finance needed state services that benefit everyone in Delaware. The Lottery offers a variety of games: POWERBALL®, MEGA MILLIONS®, HOT LOTTO®, MULTI-WIN LOTTO, DELAWARE CASH 5®, PLAY 3, PLAY 4, KENO®, iGaming and assorted Instant Games, Video Lottery, Sports Lottery and Table Games. Delaware Lottery game and promotional details are available at delottery.com, at licensed locations, and from the Lottery's office in Dover.

Winner Privacy is our Policy.
The Delaware Lottery only publishes winner names with their consent.

Powerball® drawings are Wednesdays and Saturdays at 10:59 p.m. Eastern Time, 9:59 p.m. Central Time, 8:59 p.m. Mountain Time and 7:59 p.m. Pacific Time. For more information about Powerball® please visit www.powerball.com.

The 44 U.S. lotteries where Powerball® is available are: Arizona Lottery, Arkansas Lottery, Colorado Lottery, Connecticut Lottery Corporation, D.C. Lottery & CGCB, Delaware State Lottery, Florida Lottery, Georgia Lottery Corporation, Hoosier Lottery, Idaho Lottery, Illinois Lottery, Iowa Lottery, Kansas Lottery, Kentucky Lottery Corporation, Louisiana Lottery Corporation, Maine Lottery, Maryland Lott, Massachusetts Lottery, Michigan Lottery, Minnesota State Lottery, Missouri Lottery, Montana Lottery, Nebraska Lottery, New Hampshire Lottery Commission, New Jersey Lottery, New Mexico Lottery Authority, New York Lottery, North Carolina Education Lottery, North Dakota Lottery, Ohio Lottery, Oklahoma Lottery, Oregon Lottery, Pennsylvania Lottery, Rhode Island Lottery, South Carolina Education Lottery, South Dakota Lottery, Tennessee Education Lottery, Texas Lottery, U.S. Virgin Islands Lottery, Vermont Lottery, Virginia Lottery, Washington Lottery, Wisconsin Lottery and the West Virginia Lottery. Powerball® is owned by the Multi-State Lottery Association which is a government-benefit, non-profit association owned and operated by 33 member lotteries. MUSL currently coordinates six multi-state games in the United States.
Powerball® and Power Play® are registered trademarks of the Multi-State Lottery Association.